'Return of the Jedi,' 'Fellowship of the Ring' and More to Be Inducted Into National Film Registry

The Library of Congress has unveiled the 25 films selected to join the National Film Registry.

Among the selections are Star Wars Episode VI — Return of the Jedi, which drew the most public votes, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, Disney’s WALL•E, the biographical film Selena starring Jennifer Lopez as the late Tejana star, 1971’s The Murder of Fred Hampton, The Flying Ace from 1926 and more.

“Films help reflect our cultural history and creativity — and show us new ways of looking at ourselves — though movies haven’t always been deemed worthy of preservation. The National Film Registry will preserve our cinematic heritage, and we are proud to add 25 more films this year,” said Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden. “The Library of Congress will work with our partners in the film community to ensure these films are preserved for generations to come.”

Take a look at the full list of films below.

Ringling Brothers Parade Film (1902)
Jubilo (1919)
The Flying Ace (1926)
Hellbound Train (1930)
Flowers and Trees (1932)
Strangers on a Train (1951)
What Ever Happened to Baby Jane? (1962)
Evergreen (1965)
Requiem-29 (1970)
The Murder of Fred Hampton (1971)
Pink Flamingos (1972)
Sounder (1972)
The Long Goodbye (1973)
Cooley High (1975)
Richard Pryor: Live in Concert (1979)
Chicana (1979)
The Wobblies (1979)
Star Wars Episode VI — Return of the Jedi (1983)
A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)
Stop Making Sense (1984)
Who Killed Vincent Chin? (1987)
The Watermelon Woman (1996)
Selena (1997)
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)
WALL•E (2008)

Elsewhere in entertainment, Netflix’s Kanye West documentary will premiere at Sundance.
Source: Read Full Article