Acclaimed Beatsmith Pete Rock Announces New Instalment in Revered Series, 'PeteStrumentals 3'

Legendary beatsmith Pete Rock has announced a new installment in his celebrated instrumental album series, PeteStrumentals 3.

The upcoming album features the revered producer’s newest supergroup The Soul Brothers, comprised of two-time GRAMMY-winning drummer Daru Jones (Jack White, Talib Kweli, Black Milk), the two friends recruited guitarist Marcus Machado, bassists MonoNeon (Prince, Nas, Mac Miller) and Christopher McBride (Sting), keyboardist BigYuki (A Tribe Called Quest) and vocalist Jermaine Holmes (D’Angelo). “I want the best; I’m like James Brown and Kool & The Gang; I want precision,” Rock said in a statement.

“A lot of this album sounds like samples extracted from records. We dress it up and add a definition to what it is. It’s Hip-Hop, but have you ever heard Pete Rock not sample anything or work with a band? It’s exciting. I’m a musician, whether I’m sampling or not,” he continued. “Music is music; it’s what I think about it all day, every day.”

The album announcement brings forth the lead single “Say It Again” and hears the producer’s creations come to life with a live band. “This is something that I’ve always wanted to do,” he revealed. “Being an avid digger of albums and 45s, I now have a band to study and reinterpret these records. Presenting this to the world is so fulfilling.”

Stream Pete Rock and The Soul Brothers’ “Say It Again” on Spotify and Apple Music. PeteStrumentals 3 drops December 12.

Elsewhere in music, Four Tet’s remixes of Madvillainy is available on vinyl once again.
Source: Read Full Article