VMAs: Olivia Rodrigo, Kelsea Ballerini, Doja Cat, Lil Wayne Among Performers For 2023 Awards Update

UPDATED, 9:05 AM: Olivia Rodrigo has joined the performer lineup at the 2023 VMAs. Rodrigo comes in to the trophy show with six nominations, including Video of the Year. She’ll be performing on the heels of the release of her anticipated sophomore album Guts. Rodrigo made her VMAs debut in 2021 when she performed “good 4 u.” She came away with three wins for Best New Artist, Push Artist and Song of the Year. She joins previously announced performers Lil Wayne, Anitta, Doja Cat, Kelsea Ballerini, K-pop band Tomorrow X Together, Demi Lovato, Karol G, Måneskin and Stray Kids.

PREVIOUS, Aug. 31: Lil Wayne, Anitta, Doja Cat, Kelsea Ballerini, and K-pop band Tomorrow X Together are the latest round of performers who will appear at the 2023 MTV VMAS. They join previously announced Demi Lovato, Karol G, Måneskin and Stray Kids. Additional performers to be announced soon. 

Related Stories


Sean "Diddy" Combs To Receive Golden Icon Award At 2023 VMAs


MTV VMAs 2023: Shakira To Be Honored With Video Vanguard Award

PREVIOUS, Aug. 22 : Demi Lovato, Karol G, Måneskin and Stray Kids are confirmed as the first batch of performers for the 2023 MTV VMAs. The awards show will air live from New Jersey’s Prudential Center on Tuesday, September 12 at 8 pm on MTV and streaming on Paramount+.

Taylor Swift leads the pack in nominations with eight, including Video of the Year, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year for “Anti-Hero”. Other multi-nominated artists include SZA with 6 noms, Doja Cat, Kim Petras, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, Olivia Rodrigo and Sam Smith with 5 each, and Blackpink, Diddy and Shakira with 4 each.

There also are a record number of first-ever VMAs nominees (35 total) this year, with multiple nominations for first-timers Kim Petras (5), Metro Boomin and Rema (3 each), Ayra Starr, GloRilla, Ice Spice, Peso Pluma, Reneé Rapp and Yung Miami (2 each). Other artists receiving first-time nods include Aespa, boygenius, Burna Boy, Davido, Eslabon Armado, Fletcher, Fifty Fifty, JVKE, Lauren Spencer Smith, Musa Keys, PinkPantheress, Saucy Santana, Stephen Sanchez and Toosii, among others.

Fans can vote for their favorites across 15 gender-neutral categories, including “Video of the Year,” at vote.mtv.com through Friday, September 1st; voting for “Best New Artist” will remain active into the show on Tuesday, September 12th. Nominations for social categories including “Group of the Year” and “Song of Summer” will be announced at a later date.

Bruce Gillmer and Den of Thieves co-founder Jesse Ignjatovic are Executive Producers of the 2023 VMAs. Barb Bialkowski is Co-Executive Producer. Alicia Portugal and Jackie Barba serve as Executives in Charge of Production. Wendy Plaut is Executive in Charge of Celebrity Talent. Lisa Lauricella is Music Talent Executive.

Must Read Stories

‘The Crow’ Reboot To Lionsgate; ‘Fackham Hall’ Cast Set As Bleecker Inks U.S.; More

WBTV Suspends Top Overall Deals With Greg Berlanti, Bill Lawrence, Mindy Kaling & Others

Jeff Nichols On The Sexual Tension At Heart Of ‘The Bikeriders’ Movie

Faces Class Action In Carriage Dispute; Disney Touts Hulu Live TV Subs; Zaslav Weighs In

Read More About:

Source: Read Full Article